A Complicated Kindness

It was a pick that just kind of happened when my professor said “here, read it”. It had a picture of chicken on the front and the only thing that enthralled me were the uneven pages on the inside—great, I thought.

I am happy to say that I have rid myself of my uncertain attitude towards A Complicated Kindness and quite enjoyed the novel. Being the first book in almost a year that I have read for enjoyment and not for a class, I found myself sitting like a bump on a log, fully engrossed in the book when I normally anticipate the closing of a chapter.

Although the book’s ending is rather sad, the book as a whole (which isn’t about chickens at all) is refreshingly funny and Miriam Toews’s writing style is unlike any other. It is quirky, honest, non-clique, and the spurts of beautiful language amongst sarcasm, profanity and thinking aloud allow a reader to feel for the main character and her troubled self. It could be the quirkiness of the book that i loved so much or simply Toews’s writing style but  i do know that i will be reading another book by Toews in hopes to fall in love with another one of a kind story.

Next on my reading list? Anna Karenina by Tolstoy and The Picture of Dorian Gray by Wilde

Leave a comment